It’s Amazin’ Dot Com


Okay. I’ve made up my mind. Online window shopping is much more exciting than actually window shopping. And it has all the characteristics of a dependency-causing substance; one that is ripe for being abused given the slightest encouragement. It’s fun, thrilling, addictive, and gives a high like nothing else!

As a rule, and because I’m a traditionalist, and technologically handicapped, I don’t shop online. And so the wonders of online stores were as yet unknown to me. But yesterday I was looking for a retractable lip brush online for fun, and unwittingly stepped into the quagmire of e-stores. And I knew what it was to be in Charlie’s shoes, in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory! Everything was colourful and wonderful and shiny and tempting. There was so much to see and I wanted all of it! The lip brush was forgotten in the lure of eyeshadow and shoes and audiobooks and pet toys and craft supplies and gift baskets and android phones. I even checked out the gardening section, although I couldn’t tell you the difference between a weed and a herb.

Some might argue that a department store is as tempting and diverse as an e-store. I suppose it was, the first few times I shopped there. Maybe it still is, for little children. But mostly, going to a shopping store is more of a chore than an adventure. Time consuming, backache-inducing. The store inside my laptop, on the other hand, is convenient. And I can shop–or window shop–comfortably, sipping my coffee, and reclining on my couch.

So much enthusiasm–and I was only window shopping! I wonder what happens to people who actually buy stuff online. It must require oodles of self-control to buy only what was on the shopping list, and nothing else. As for me, I found out a lot about things that I don’t need at all, and til yesterday, didn’t know I wanted so desperately!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s Amazin’ Dot Com

  1. It’s a trap alright but too convenient to ignore. You’ll settle down after you realise how much unused and useless junk you have lying around. Like me.

    PS To paraphrase George Orwell in ‘Animal Farm’, “Weed, bad; herb, good”.

  2. 🙂 For unused and useless junk, there’s always eBay!
    PS I’m going to paint that on a T-shirt!

  3. i love Mike’s comment too! And I swear the first thought that popped in my head was the same : paint it! We might just end up having similar stuff now!

  4. Pingback: Window(s) Shopping Online | IMHOOT

Your Thoughts Are Welcome!

