50 shades of me?


*Spoiler alert* for ‘Fifty Shades of Gray’

I’m a relatively open minded person. I don’t judge people, don’t take sides. So much so that my friends accuse me of diplomacy. But then I read something like ‘Fifty Shades of Gray’ and all my tolerance goes out the window.

I have read only the first few chapters as yet–Christian has just shown Ana his ‘playroom’–but it all felt so wrong that I had to take a break before I go back to it. And during the break I realized that my open-mindedness was actually self-deception. I’m more conservative than I think, or would like to be.
Come to think of it, I should have realized this earlier. Because I can’t read gay romances either (at least those found on Goodreads), specifically their MSM part. Even though I love the gay couples on TV, e.g. in ‘Modern Family’.

Maybe it’s just fear of the unknown rather than intolerance. Okay, I give in to curiosity. I’ll go back to ‘Fifty Shades..’ now. Test my–at least theoretical–upper limits.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Your Thoughts Are Welcome!

